Task Bouncing

Below shows babbitt (lead+or-) prep for melt and pour. Stainless metal plate is from my guitar side bending machine. Had to steal it from there as my usual plate I have used for years is MIA since move to N.C

PreLeadPour

 

Below is rudder sink weight cooling with fume fan.

LeadPour

 

Rudder  2 sides and  stock 1 side glassed.

RudderStockCovered

 

Second side of leeBoard glassed with 3.25 oz cloth over 4″ wide 6oz tape. All ply edges will get 3 coats of epoxy to seal out water. Toe slot in rudder will get some kind of “rubber” plug to alleviate fluid dynamic folderall with tether string attached. Rudder and Lee Board lower bottom leading edges will get a 4″ fiberglass tape treatment for shallows and gators.

LeeBoard2Sides

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Larry Whited
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 19:32:50

    Where did you find the lead? How much?

    Reply

    • W. P. Moffitt
      Apr 08, 2016 @ 20:28:36

      Larry, before I left the elevator business, I got all the left over babbitt we used for pouring hoist rope shackles. We moved on to wedge shackles that don’t use poured babbitt. I got maybe 110# from that and another 50# approx from my brother’s shop when he died. I need 200 for D’Arcy Bryn, but doubt I will find it before she hits the water. I plan to temp store what I have on cabin bottom at CP of hull.

      Reply

  2. Larry Whited
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 22:14:09

    Interesting! Maybe some Home Depot stone. I bought 5 bags of Vigaro Pond Stones for cheap. Using it (250#) for ballast in the SeaPearl since the tanks are leaky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

