Hatch and Companionway

2ndPrimerA quick photo of cockpit with sanding and second coat of primer. (click for larger images, as usual)

MoldingProfilePoor focus, but here is the molding profile.

I came across this molding while looking for something to seal the end grain of the 3/8″deck ply of the cockpit hatch. I chose this because it will seal the deck ply, make a low profile combing, and minimize lost hatch opening; also it is prettier than a 90 degree molding. The combing height will be only 1/2″ not the 3/4″ Michalak recommends. Jim says he has slept over one of his 1″+ high hatches with a standard blow-up beach lilo mattress without discomfort and I am sure that is true. But if D’Arcy Bryn ever is to sleep more than the one person she is designed for, I want to make sure they are OK in the (tented) cockpit. My closed hatch will be 7/8″ high. Though not as water proof as the original design, which I have used with great success till now, the 1/2″ combing lip will provide better comfort for legs in the foot well and enough water resistance when closed to be OK.

In a departure from the plans as drawn, the foot well chamber is sealed from the rest of the boat as I have eliminated the limber holes. I will accept some water leakage into this area as it is easy to sponge out and the self draining deck area will keep green water on board to a minimum time as it drains out. The Drains have not yet been cut into the cockpit sides. There will be four, one in each corner.

TrialFitHatch

Here is a rough fit of the hatch molding in place. The lid will be 3/8″ ply with solid wood edging to seal the end grain of the ply. Looks good to me…  While I was looking at this, it occurred to me that I might leverage this use to the companionway opening!

CompSlotMockupIMG_20150312_145638513Above you can see that if I put molding on both sides of the bulkhead, I not only seal some end grain, but also have a nice 1/2″ deep by 5/8″ wide slot for the drop boards! And, as it also happens, the molding is 5/8″ thick, so I can frame 1/4″ ply drop boards and have stiff, sliding “doors”!

CompDeckTrimMolding

I generally avoid bright finishes because of the upkeep, but these moldings may have to be epoxy coated and varnished. I think it will look good!

I don’t know if I will be able to get these glued in before I have to call a halt for trips and relocating, but it is still a big step forward and a solution to a problem that I have been working on in the back ground for a while.

Un Abrazo,

Bill

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TomHenry
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 21:01:25

    Bill
    If I’m understanding this, I love this foot well thingy – a best of both worlds deal! Is there any kind of slip/skid protection/prevention down in the well?

    Reply

    • W. P. Moffitt
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 23:06:14

      Tom,
      There will be. I use the anti-skid additive from Home Depot you mix with your paint. It works well. Too much and your deck will take off you skin! Just enough works very well…
      Bill

      Reply

  2. Gary Blankenship
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 22:21:41

    She’s looking great!

    Reply

  3. W. P. Moffitt
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 23:21:54

    Thanks Gary!

    Reply

  4. Norm Wolfe
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 09:46:16

    Hope we get to see her at Eastern Messabout (Elk Neck park) in May.

    Reply

    • W. P. Moffitt
      Mar 13, 2015 @ 11:45:43

      Sorry Norm; I wish I could show her to you then, but it will have to wait till next year. Retiring and boat building appear to conflict, at least at first…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

