Lots of Glassing Done

I have done a bit of work previously and not put in up here, but most of this was done today.

As always, click on photos or videos to see larger!

IMG_20150208_163307843

Here is the Starboard side glassed as far as the cloth I had left over would do after I had completed the entire cockpit (except the cabin bulkhead).

IMG_20150210_102334504

Draped Port side, full length this time. I got more cloth Monday; should be enough for all that’s left.

IMG_20150210_122106503_HDR

Finished Port side. All exterior ply will be glassed to prevent checking of the Home Depot exterior ply. This boat may have to last me a long time…

IMG_20150210_133008626

Draped Starboard cabin top. I usually spread epoxy on wood first, lay on glass cloth, then spread more epoxy on top. But this time just worked it through dry draped cloth and worked spreader/brush till saturated. Definitely harder to get good saturation this way, but easier to get flat, wrinkle free application. I did go back later in the day and added another thin application where it showed a little bit light colored.

IMG_20150210_144948408

Starboard cabin top glassed; this before touch-up with more epoxy.

Video below shows much bare wood at beginning of work…you can also see much of the cockpit glassed as well. Deck, sides, and transom are done.

This last one shows all exteriors glassed; well, except for cabin forward and aft cockpit bulkheads and transom aft. I need to get the motor board mounted first…

I did not realize till getting ready to put her away that I could not put on the tarp before rolling her in as usual. The epoxy is still tacky, so no tarp.  This also means that the little heater I use under the tarp to set up the epoxy in this cold weather will be trying to heat the entire “garage” and not just the boat interior. Not going to be effective! But tomorrow should be above 50 degrees, so it should be OK by the afternoon.

Un Abrazo,

Bill

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Bellows
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 20:37:16

    A thousand little steps, for sure, but the fibre-glassing work looks like a few big jumps. Do you put a lot of time into working out the air bubbles? Your glassing work is reminding me of the leaks I need to repair on my Carver roof; the wood laminate below the glass is still salvageble, I think.

    Reply

  2. W. P. Moffitt
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 23:41:52

    Mike, I spend as much time as it takes to get rid of the wrinkles. But I am getting good at it now! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Norm Wolfe
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 09:05:58

    Bill, thanks for the blog. I look forward to seeing the hatch in person at the Eastern Messabout at Elk Neck park. Hope to see you there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

