Bilge Panels, Sides, and Keelson

I have not updated as I got things done because they have been so dismally insignificant! But I see by the visitor count on the blog that some of you never give up, so here is a synopsis of recent progress.

Sides Glassed

The first fiber glass  cloth I tried to apply to the sides to prevent checking in the SYP ply I use soaked up so much epoxy that after 6oz worth of epoxy mix I peeled it off while wet and ordered something different. The new stuff is GREAT!  Went on smooth and only took about 8 oz of mix per side. Above is a shot of the results. You can also see the crescent shaped addition on the bilge panel I have added to complete the glassing of the bottom with 8oz cloth. Yes, I will coat the cabin sides as well, but not till I have her right side up.

Here is the starbord side as well as the keelson upon which the lead blocks of ballast (200 lbs) will be bolted. This assures self righting from a knock down, assuming my weight is in the water, or plastered to the bottom inside the cabin. It also assured a draft of 12″ fully loaded which is more that I am used to, but that is the trade off I have chosen to make.

Bow Keelson

Uncut keelson and view of fully glassed bottom/bilge/sides.

Stern Keelson

A stern view of the keelson and a reminder of the lift bar/legs temporarily screwed to the transom.

Keelson Cut Bow

I grabbed a hand saw and rough cut the keelson at the bow. Note all the nice symmetry in that image!

Bow Keelson Closeup

Nice angles!

I put up more photos than normal so you can see more than I comment on.  Sean’s Toon2 live-aboard project is progressing far better than mine, and I will add a quick shot of his boat here.

Sean’s Toon2 May 6th

Un Abrazo,

Bill

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Throne
    May 06, 2012 @ 22:11:55

    Looks good Bill. You’re Going to love the stability, apart from the recovery part. See you in a month.

    Reply

  2. Kathleen
    May 07, 2012 @ 04:23:16

    Include a picture of one of our animals in there so it’s cuter!

    Reply

  3. W. P. Moffitt
    May 07, 2012 @ 07:03:56

    Sorry Kathleen, but Sean doesn’t like to be in photos…!

    Reply

  4. Stan
    May 07, 2012 @ 13:24:42

    Now I want to put a cabin on my Family Skiff like the Toon2. That is such a nice little cruiser.

    Stan

    Reply

    • W. P. Moffitt
      May 07, 2012 @ 16:59:16

      Thank you Stan! When you are sitting in it it seems HUMONGOUS! But then this is my first cabin, so what do I know.

      Reply

  5. Darryl
    May 08, 2012 @ 22:24:58

    Was wondering hoe she was coming along.. looks good Bill. Can’t wait to see her go “top side up”.

    Reply

    • Darryl
      May 08, 2012 @ 22:28:59

      oops, spell check has me spoiled ,my lack of typing skills gets me in trouble again… meant >>Was wondering how she was coming along..

      Reply

  6. TMJohnson
    May 14, 2012 @ 09:51:34

    Bill, Could you please elaborate on the specific fiberglass cloth that required so much more epoxy than usual?
    Thanks, TMJ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

