D’Arcy Bryn into a “Boat Barrow”

It is past time to start building on the D’Arcy Bryn, but I have been getting my “boat-fix” watching and helping my son Sean build his Toon2. He is planning on living aboard her for 3 to 4 months this Spring/Summer in and around the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Anyway, it’s all his fault!

Here she is freshly uncovered in her golden cavern. Image

I need to come up with a way I can get her out of, and back into, the shelter all by myself.  So I made a 2×6 “axle” with 10″ pneumatic tires so I could roll the bow around. Here is attempt number one.

Image

Nope, no good! the bulkhead drags the ground; I need some more clearance. Here is try number two;

Image

Much better; the bulkhead is clear, but the clamps needed to hold that 2×6 in a vertical orientation are now digging into the earth!  Third times a charm?

Image

I added the wooden guides to locate the bulkhead/2×6 and was able to roll her on out!

Image

But I couldn’t put that long, low sawhorse under the stern by myself

Image

So I added two legs and a strategically placed lifting bar so I can use my legs only to lift properly.

Image

As you can see in the video below, it all works well.  She is now a Boat Barrow!

I will try to keep up with this blog as I build.

Un Abrazo,

Bill

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. duckworks
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 00:53:22

    Nice to see your face in a video, Bill – and it didn’t even break the camera! So I guess it is save to do it again. Keep posting.

    Reply

  2. Kathleen
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 04:48:10

    Looks great Bill! But what I want to know is what color are you going to paint it?! I say Bright Blue and Green!

    Reply

  3. Pedro
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 04:54:09

    Genius!! The Da Vinci of 21st century.

    Reply

  4. Max Goldston
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 06:55:45

    Awesome stuff!!

    Reply

  5. john wright
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 09:54:27

    Looking good. Yeah, boatbarrows are a necessary boat tool. When will I see it?

    Reply

  6. gabby hewitt
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 13:27:41

    as max said great stuff…hope it’s ready for kathleen’s wedding then maybe the little flower girl can come in a boat…teehee

    Reply

  7. Bob Throne
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 17:12:41

    Good to see Bill .. you are gonna have to hustle to keep up with those two boys of yours!

    Reply

  8. Larry Whited
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 16:48:30

    Nice to have a boat you can move by yourself. Looking good!

    Reply

  9. John Sisco
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 15:25:35

    Hi Ho Bill.
    Is this another of Mike’s Boats? Anyway to post the drawing? I’d like to see what it is you’re creating. Think it will be ready for Labor Day so we can see it?
    J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

