Playing Catch Up

This entry will cover several days past.  Progress is sporadic and time to make entries is sparse.  I will try to make this sequential.

This Picture shows the countersunk holes for the screws to clamp the second 1/2″ bottom ply to the first.  Eight inch pattern as Michalak suggests.  9/30/2011

Here is a 1 minute video of the bottom before cutting the wires and shaping.

And here is another with the 1″ bottom added without shaping.  10/3/2011

10/3/2011 Here is the 1″ bottom after I got out the hand power planer! No rounding yet…

10/3/2011 Above is another shot.

Below a detail of beveling at maximum effect.

Here is another short video of the beveled 1″ bottom.

Below is a photo of the 1″ bottom sanded and rounded off.  10/08/2011

Below is a detail showing the gap to be filled after the inside taping was done. This was the maximum; others were less.

Below, the stern transom to bottom rounding.

Below, after removing the screw “clamps” I taped the bottom of the holes inside the hull with masking tape, then filled them with slightly thickened epoxy and tooth picks.

 

Also today, 10/08/2011, I mixed up some thickened epoxy and filled in all the gaps on all exterior seams. When cured, I will sand down and apply exterior tapes.

 

Un Abrazo,

Bill

 

 

 





3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck Leinweber
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 21:16:59

    bill: watching every move. My only complaint is that I keep wishing you would talk during the videos. Just say, “this came out Ok”, or “Oh shit!” or something. Anyway, I can’t wait to see her floating. Muchas gracias for building this one. Otherwise I would have had to. Again.

    Reply

  2. paul
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 19:47:56

    chuck comment is funny. also you got a big bottom.

    Reply

  3. JACK SPOERING
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:18:21

    HI BILL – YOUR DOING A GREAT JOB. FOR A RATHER SMALL BOAT THERE’S A LOT OF WORK TO IT. I TOO HAVE FALLENN FOR “BRYN” AND WANT TO BUILD MY OWN, HOWEVER I’VE EMAILED MICHALAK TO ASK IF THE LENGTH COULD BE INCREASED TO 16-18′. I’D LIKE THAT FOR THE CRUISING I WANT TO DO. BUT IF HE SAY’S NO I’LL JUST FOLLOW YOU.
    KEEP GOING, I’M FOLLOWING YOUR PROGRESS EVERY DAY.
    JACK SPOERING – OCALA, FLORIDA, USA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

