January 20th, 2009

It is too cold to do much on his boat, but Sean did get a couple of things done.  Below are a couple of shots of the double-tapered vee fitted which will eventually carry the rudder.

tiller1

rudderattch2-1

.

.

And here is the tiller roughed out and trial fitted…

tiller1-1

imga0231

Un Abrazo,

Bill and Sean

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stan Roberts
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 13:22:44

    Glad to see you have started on the cabin cruiser. I have just started assembly of my Family Skiff also. After seeing your drawings from Michalak, I am thinking of a detachable cuddy cabin on my boat. Looks like a really snug little cruiser. How much ballast was in the final calculation?

    Stan

    Reply

    • Bill
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:41:21

      Stan,
      Thanks. Jim came up with 200 lbs. That will self-right from a 90 degree knockdown WITHOUT me on deck. I will have to tether and re-board. I suspect that if I am hunkered down in the cabin and get the majority of my weight within 19″ of the floor she will come on up while I am inside.

      I have toyed with the detachable cuddy for Embers Watch but have not come up with a practical design.
      Un Abrazo,
      Bill

      Reply

  2. Stan Roberts
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 13:23:36

    Another question, I can’t make out the sail area on the drawing. What is the area of the mainsail and mizzen?

    Stan

    Reply

    • Bill
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:46:43

      Stan,
      The main is the same as my Mikesboat, Embers Watch. 117sq ft and I forget what the mizzen is. Saeta is a bit over canvased with these sails, but that is what reefing is for!
      The under water shape is quite OK though that big cabin will certainly affect hoe she sails, but the weight will help carry way and the large sail area will contribute too. I am trading off some performance for (relatively) great comfort and protection.

      Un Abrazo,
      Bill

      Reply

    • moffitt1
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:58:36

      Hello Comment-reply,

      Monday, March 15, 2010, 9:23:37 AM, you wrote:

      Stan, I answered you on the blog.

      >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

