EMBERS WATCH 2nd Launch; Lake Juliette

See https://moffitt1.wordpress.com/seans-pickup-squared/ for latest news!

The last time I went sailing on a lake was around 1960 at Camp Longhorn, Texas, on a Sunfish.  All my sailing since I got back from Spain in 1984 has been two weeks a year in the Gulf or on the Atlantic coasts.  My WOOBO served me well these last 8 or 9 years. But now I have Embers Watch, my Mikesboat, and she is too good to limit to one trip a year, even if it was the Texas 200.

So I decided to go lake sailing again.  A co-worker who once sailed on Lake Juliette suggested I try there.Yes, that is a power plant you see in the link map.

Lake Juliette, also known as Rum Creek, is a 3,600-acre Georgia Power Company (GPC) reservoir located 15 miles north of Macon adjacent to Hwy. 23. Impounded in 1980, the lake provides cooling water for Plant Scherer’s electric generating facility. Two boat ramps owned and maintained by GPC are available for public use. WRD prohibits the use of outboard motors greater than 25 hp. Boats with larger outboards may be used, but the outboard cannot be operated.”

There are about 32 miles of shoreline, so I should be able to have some fun for a good number of trips. It is a 1 1/2 hour drive from my house, about 80 miles, so staying over at least one night is the only way to go.  Sean (youngest son who was in China instead of Texas 200), went with me. I left work a little early and we got to the lake about 4:30pm. I let Sean sail pretty much the whole trip- I consider sitting back and tending sheet as sailing also… (Click any photo to expand)

Sean’s first sail on Embers Watch-leaving launch area.

Typical shore on far side of lake.

Shots of Sunset anchored for camping… Note con trail!  Coal fired, not nuclear…

Winds were 4 to 6 mph that afternoon and the GPS showed a max speed of 4.3 Knots.

These photos show details of how the tent set up works on the seat/platform made with infill plates between the seats. Stern to bow. Bow to Stern.

I tried a different setup for the rain fly this time. Instead of affixing it to the tent pole bases as designed, we spring clamped it to the wales down the starboard side and ready to pull up and over quickly to clamp the port side if needed. This would shed most of the water out of the boat instead of onto the sole. We did not get to test it out.

Rain fly ready to deploy!

The next morning Plant Scherer had disappeared into the mists!

Wild life…

Scherer converted to a fairy castle in the morning light…

Winds were nil till 10:30, so I rowed for a good while. We had the oar ports open all the time on the lake; this morning I left the oars in place till the wind picked up steady and rowed in between. Here are a couple of shots of that arraignment-worked well.

I found that I could row about 1 stroke every 2.5 to 3 seconds and the boat would go 2 to 2.3 Knots.Even unused to rowing as I am, I kept it up 30 minutes solid, then off and on until the wind got better, and feel I could have done it for much longer.

Top speed on the GPS for that morning was 5 Knots.  The water level when heeled came to within 1/2″ of the bottom of the oar ports(That’s with me seated on lee side of the boat though). But the 3.5″ of the rowlock mount gave plenty of room to heel more.  Those cover plates undoubtedly did yeoman duty on the Texas 200 as we never got a drop of leakage. I am ready to call my deck plate/oar-port adaptation a success. I do need to make a rowing seat about 4″ lower than the bench seats, though I was able to use them as is, but not as efficiently as I will with a lower seat.

Here is a screen shot of the GPS tracks of our trip.

As always, and for all photos herein, click to enlarge. Camp spot on map has date/time stamp next to it.Trip Odometer reads 11.65 nautical miles, top speed 5 Knots and average 2.1Knots. Lots of no to light air at times.  We were off the water by 1PM Saturday.

Google shot of lake.

All said and done, I did enjoy the trip and will do another when I can.

Un Abrazo,

Bill

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liam
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 18:16:09

    There’s a lake just like that in Delaware, with the power plant and all. Did you see any three-eyed fish?

    What GPS device are you using?

    Reply

  2. moffitt1
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 18:36:15

    Hey Liam-nice to hear from you. No three eyed fish-guess coal doesn’t cause mutations…

    Gps is a Garmin GPSMap60

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

