June 1st, Sunday


A disappointing day. Trouble with sewing machine for a while, had to make my own “kit” with materials from Sailrite for the mizzen sail, got it all sewed up and then found that I don’t have either grommet setting tool I need for it. I do have the #1 set for the main and it has screw type grommets for corners, so I am OK there.

Starting. Laying out mizzen.

Detail More detail; learning.

Then started on the main. Rebecca is a good seamstress, but does not undertand the instructions, so I will have to help her a fair bit. At the end of the day we got 4 of 9 panals sewn with attendant 4 layer corner and reef patches sewn in. Quality of Sailrite kit is fantastic! Really, really well done and deserves better workmanship than mine…

Did a bit of shaping on mizzen mast, but got nothing else done. Test sail for Wednesday is doubtful. Everything just sort of went to hell.

Bill

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Paul Moffitt
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 10:44:32

    Hi
    I was afraid that you might have problems with the sail. So sorry I couldn’t have done it for you. Don’t worry so much though, I still think you have a good chance at a test sail. i will call you later today,
    best
    Paul

    Reply

Leave a Reply

