Thursday, May 22nd

I got Max to sand down the bottom. I told him to scuff up the epoxy all over. There were a few shiny low spots, but we shall just have to wait and see if this porch/floor paint sticks to it or not.

I prepped the keelson by sanding the splice and quarter rounding the edges.

Then pre-fitted and drilled holes for 1″ #8 brass screws. Two screws every 12″ with bigger screws at stern and bow.

I ran three lines of caulk and a cross line at all screws, then started at center and screwed ‘

er down to the ends. Got squeeze out some places and caulked full length.


Then I masked off by guess and by eye and started painting.

That is one coat down. Could not paint caulk yet, so that is why the unpainted lines are there.

I think I got the colors right. Hard to tell till you get some large adjacent areas done…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck Leinweber
    May 23, 2008 @ 03:22:42

    Bill: I gotta tell you that if you bring that maroon and white boat to Texas, you are going to be accused of being an Aggie. Some will make the accusation with a big grin and some with a shotgun. It depends on where you are.

    Reply

  2. moffitt1
    May 23, 2008 @ 10:34:06

    Then I am safe! The “white” is a cream/yellow called Honey Moon!

    Still, from a distance….

    Got up early today, skipped my 2 mile workout and put a second coat on the bottom.

    Bill

    Reply

  3. Kent
    May 24, 2008 @ 01:43:10

    Uh, is that a mug of epoxy in that first photo? 🙂

    Reply

  4. moffitt1
    May 24, 2008 @ 01:50:33

    Why….. yes, yes, thats what it is! I always mix in a frozen mug to keep it from cooking off… 😉

    I wondered who would notice that…

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

