Wednesday, May 21st

Ok, we flipped her over for the next to last time. I mixed up some fast epoxy and squeegeed in some where the weave was too sparsely filled. I plan to sand down when cured tomorrow and paint it. No fairing. You want to see what a lousy job I did, be there before launching or swim under the boat! 🙂

Yesterday I was on call and got zilch done. Here is a clip of weather as a tornado touched down about 10 miles from the house. I have visions of that red oak coming down on my boat…. Listen to that water and lightning!

Here is a photo of hull flipped and bow with first coat of red.

Here are some sailing bits painted the red color.

Larry of
http://www.seapearlboats.org//

came over to help. Super nice guy ( aren’t we all–us sailors?!? ) and helped to turn her over. Be sure to check out his tale of woe at lower left about his almost trip to the Dry Tortugas…

In conversation he asked about the motor well mount and one thing led to another and I now have the loan of a 2.5HP outboard for this trip! I don’t care what they say, I like this guy!! Thanks Larry…

Larry also reiterated what Mike observed(another visitor who came over to see) ,that the plan drawing and photos do not give a good impression of this design by Michalak. This is a substantial boat. The volume is what is impressive, apparently. I know I was surprised by the massiveness of the real thing compared to my vision from the plans; and I have 4 Michalak designs built so far. I am looking forward to surprising some of you in Port Mansfield 🙂

Bill

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kent
    May 22, 2008 @ 12:07:23

    Aye, Laddie, I now see the maroon boat arising from the pile of plywood. You’ve got yourself a *real* vessel there. In the event you grow tired of her in Texas, just swing back through Kentucky and drop ‘er off at my place. 🙂 I’m in the process of choosing my second boat, and the Mikesboat design is on the short list. Thanks for sharing your work with us.

    I’m off to Fort Morgan, AL to try my Piccup Squared in Bon Secour Bay one more time.

    Reply

  2. Paul Moffitt
    May 22, 2008 @ 14:34:03

    I am getting very excited.

    Reply

  3. Mike A.
    May 22, 2008 @ 18:49:39

    Between the weather and work, how can you get anything done? The weather gods are not looking favorably on you. Might think back to determine what you did to make them angry at you. The boat is looking great, can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

