Thursday, April 10th

Haven’t been posting, but I have been busy. Wanted to do the hull tapes and bottom cover all at one time, but rain, fog, damp wood, work, etc, have conspired to make that impossible. So I decided that I will have to settle for a mechanical bond, not a chemical one for the epoxy on the bottom.

Monday I got double tapes on the bottom/chine joint; Tuesday the same for chine/side. Wednesday I sanded down all tapes and edges. Today I double taped the bow and stern transoms. Got the boat covered up for rain tomorrow PM, Saturday, clearing on Sunday but lows Mon, Tues, Wed in the 30’s! I am on call anyway, so I will have to do some inside/short jobs.

So I also routed 6:1 tapers on 4 @ 8′ and 4 @ 12′ 1 x 4’s to splice-up and then laminate for my mainmast. Somewhat uninteresting photos follow of bottom as of today.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mike
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 00:53:32

    looks like this is getting serious–Later mike

    Reply

  2. Kent
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 12:04:54

    Bill,

    There are no boring photos in boat-building (seriously). Whether it’s a sawhorse design, a boat shelter idea, or simply admiring the treehouse that shares the backyard, I learn *something* from each and every shot. We appreciate your taking the time to take and post the pics.

    I built my first boat (my link) last spring, and plan to start another after Memorial Day. You certainly make the process look easy 🙂

    Reply

  3. moffitt1
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 14:14:25

    Kent, Thanks for the encouragement! Yes, I have a lot of crap accumulated around the house….

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

