Friday, March 21st

It is Good Friday, and it has been a good Friday. Got home at 3pm started at 3:30pm and had the boat packed up for the night at 7:15pm. We got her flipped over and the bottom wired onto the bulkheads. Then laid the chines on to check the fit and just to look her over. Pictures in a moment.

But first, let me recommend something. I have not heard of anyone else doing this, but it is so obvious maybe no one bothered to mention it. Still, this is the ONLY way to work on a stitch and glue at this stage. I had to get under the sides several times before while working on Mikesboat,and for an old man like me it was a pain in the body! So now I use this…creepersm.jpgcreeper2sm.jpgI just went to the garage and got my creeper!

Easy to get under and out and an absolute breeze moving around under the boat to mark, align, and wire.

These were taken with the bottom wired on and the chines just placed onto the hull. There will be some adjustment cuts to be made, but nothing major.

sternsm.jpgThe stern.rearquartersm.jpgRear Quarter

bowqrtrsm.jpgBow Quarter.bowsm.jpgBow

bowqrtr2sm.jpgPort Bowwale1.jpgWale detail.

I am looking forward to the weekend to see how far along I can get.

Un Abrazo,

Bill

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck Leinweber
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 11:54:18

    Creepy! Not really, more like smart. I remember when I built the Caprice – once I got her turned over, climbing in and out of the boat nearly killed me. When the boat was upside down, glassing and sanding and painting was relatively easy. Once inside, you have to climb in and out for every little thing and you have to squat to do the work. Don’t build any boats bigger than this one. It is looking great, by the way.

    Chuck

    Reply

  2. Sisco
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 12:00:42

    Bill, It’s been fun watching your boat come together. Looking forward to looking it over in person. See you in two weeks. You won’t get me to work on it though. 2000 hours a year working on boats is plenty for anyone. Decided on a paint scheme yet.
    Cheers
    John

    Reply

  3. Paul Moffitt
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 14:47:04

    Dude
    looks really nice. I really wish I was indepently wealthy already so i didn’thave to worry about work. i am really going to miss not being there. I do plan on living on my boat for at least a week this year though, even if its just doing the coast of maryland.
    ah well, the boat looks grand and I can not wait to sail her. Have you though of a name yet for her? May I suggest “spray”
    yours
    paul

    Reply

  4. Sisco
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 15:08:10

    Paul, I’ve seen alot of boats named Spray. If I ever own my own I’ like Miss Spent Youth, I’ve never seen that one.
    John

    Reply

  5. moffitt1
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 02:14:05

    John Sisco,
    Color scheme will be Cream sides/interior/decks. Burgundy Bottom/chines/Bow and Stern Transom, Sprit, Hatch trim/molding, boom and yard. Bright varnish Rudder, Masts, Leeboard, hatch tops, and seat panels.

    Well, that is what I think so far. I may have to simplify if time runs out!
    I won’t steal your boat name. My youth is long over. Anyone else have a name suggestion?

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a comment