Sunday, March 9, 2008

OK, I spliced the wales pieces and put a black plastic cover on top and baked it hard.img_0217.jpg

Then started the epoxying of bulkheas to sides. Here is the last one I did, the bow transom, shown open ready to glue.

(Click on thumbnails of any photo to enlarge)

bow_open.jpg

Squeezing epoxy into joint a la cake icing technique.

bow_open_glue.jpg

Max and I then flipped the hull over. Tough with only 2 people, and the last time it will be possible with only 2; bottom and chines will be on next time!

Jim warned me to cut chines oversize (too late though) but as you can see here they will fit just fine:flp_bottom_chine.jpg

Abit of fiddling, but as usual, Michalak’s numbers are right on. Rope hold down for bottom displaces seam of chine to bottom in these photos.

Here is a stern view of chine fit.flip_bot_chn_stern.jpg

Here she is as I have to put her to bed every night.

put2bed.jpg

A good bit of work considering I could not start outside till 1PM when sun had warmed boat up for epoxy. Tuckered out and stopped at 5:30PM.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck Leinweber
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 01:26:24

    Bill: I am really liking what i see. If you can’t get to Port Mansfield a little early, maybe I can get a sail at one of the stops or at the messabout on Saturday, if you are able to stay for that. I’ll sway you a ride in the Caprice.

    Chuck

    Reply

  2. moffitt1
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 01:42:20

    As much work as this is presenting, I’ll settle for just making it there; never mind early! But I will try to be there a day or two early-I may be christening her and testing prior to setting off!

    I’d love to go out with you in the Caprice before she goes to the new owner. I do plan to stay for the messabout, but I may be so sick of it all, who knows!
    You will get a sail if I am there, guaranteed!
    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

