Thursday, December 13

Jim Michalak, designer of Mikesboat, answered my email about the missing 2 dimensions; they are on his original drawing, but failed to get transferred to the plans. He also said he would work on the balanced lugsail + mizzen rig for this boat, a change from the original at my request. I will try to scan/post this when I have it.

Meantime, here is a cut/paste by me of the boat with the Lug only.

(CLICK THUMBNAIL)

mikesbtalug.jpg

Sail may be too far forward, but I think it looks much better than the sharpie rig! (Sorry Mike!)

Un Abrazo,

Bill

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ben
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 15:44:46

    Bill, nothing like using a piano and foosball table as work bench! Thanks for sending the link. Ben

    Reply

  2. Mike
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 15:41:20

    I just like simple sail rigs,thats why I wanted the Sharpie rig.It will be nice to see one built.

    Mike

    Reply

  3. moffitt1
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 14:19:43

    Mike, such a pleasure to meet the instigator!
    I am also a fan of simplicity and have been hooked on the balanced lug since using it on my WOOBO , “CHISPA”. The short mast of the lug counterbalances the weatherliness of the sharpie in my mind.
    I asked Jim to add a mizzen since this boat will be used for coastal cruising a lot and I want all the benefits it provides while reefing and anchoring. Check back on my blog late this weekend, March 1-3, for a good addition. At least I hope so; I have a terrible cold right now and don’t know if I can get it done or not.

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

