“Work Day” ONE

Sunday November 11th 

After a good while perusing the plans for my Mikesboat, I went to Home Depot today and got 9 sheets of 3/8″ plytanium sanded BC exterior ply and 3 of 1/2″ as well. I had to pick through the pile and about 1 out of 5 were OK. I then had to put all the bad ones back (not fair to leave that mess for the guys who work there). I also picked up a sheetrocker’s “T” Square: 48″ long with a T of about 20″ for $12. Excellent for laying out parts from Michalak’s plans.

So, loaded up the S10 pickup and took the plywood home to unload onto four 2x4s on the back porch. But instead of getting to start lay out, I had to take bed and mattress to sis in law’s house, repair headboard, work on nephew’s computer, and so on. Finally got to start on lay out and got about 1 hour in before dark.

I got 4 bulkheads layed out and will try for some more tomorrow. Might even get to try out that Duckworks Matsushita blade and cut some out. I did weigh the plywood, 2 or 3 of each and the 3/8″ weighs 40 lbs while the 1/2″ averages 50 lbs. Total ply weight at 510 lbs.

Not much work accomplished overall, but at least I have started. Need to get Epoxy/glass ordered soon so I can glue up bheads etc. I hope to have all Bheads made, sides cut and spliced, along with bottom, lee board, rudder and stock glued and shaped and ready to finish during this winter. Come spring, when the weather starts getting up to 70F again, I should be able to get the hull assembled outside in a single weekend. Best laid plans….

Bill

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul Moffitt
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 02:51:32

    COOL, congrats, remember that a little every day is the best way to do, with a coule of all day weekends you will have no problem. and also I haven’t cut of a finger yet while a little tipsy 😉

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A word of Thanks… « Moffitt’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

